God of War Timeline Explained

God of War Timeline Explained

Subscribe: https://www.youtube.com/@ScreenRant?sub_confirmation=1

It’s been 18 years since God of War’s first release back in 2005 so there is a lot to catch up on. Not to mention the fact the game has gone through a soft reboot with 2018’s release of God of War 4 and continued that with 2022’s God of War Ragnarok. Originally set in an alternate version of ancient Greece with Gods and mythical creatures everywhere, the two most recent releases of the series have shifted from greek mythology to Norse mythology. But regardless of where or who he’s fighting, the game’s main character, Kratos, has been on the hunt for revenge since the beginning. Once the God of War himself, Kratos now has to spend a lot of time looking after his son Atreus. Kratos has gone from revenge fueled patricide to trying to be father of the year. Once a great Spartan warrior with loyalty sworn to Ares, Kratos has come a long way. Especially considering his super tragic backstory. This video will break down the full God of War timeline in chronological order. Going over all 9 releases and any potential future releases as well, so you can be fully caught up on the God of War Series. Whether you’re a new fan or loyal since day one we have all the information you need. Major spoilers ahead.


0:00 – Intro
0:09 God of War: Ascension
2:11 God of War: Chains of Olympus
2:55 God of War 1
4:04 God of War: Betrayal
4:53 God of War: Ghost of Sparta
5:48 God of War 2
6:55 God of War 3
7:55 God of War 4
9:07 God of War Ragnarok
10:16 Future Releases?

Check out Screen Rant’s official TikTok!

Our Social Media:


Our Website:

Written by: Isaac Frans
Narrated by: Maxwell Lichtig
Edited by: Umair G

For copyright matters please contact us at: legal@valnetinc.com